Salt box houses
The harbour in the old town of Trinity is one of the largest on the east coast of Newfoundand and has been used by fishing ships since it was discover in 1501 by a Portuguese explorer. It has had a permenant settlement the early 1600s. The town has a number of Registered Heritage Stuctures and is a great place to see historic colourful old wooden salt box houses, the Newfoundland folk architecture. The movie 'The Shipping News' was filmed here.
salt box housesTrinityhistoric harbourfolk architectureNewfoundland